Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: how are box cars loaded?

Default how are box cars loaded?

i am a warehouseman in the trade show exhibit industry, thus i make my living loading pad wrapped, palletized and crated exhibits into trucks. most of the time, my co workers and i load the freight into the trailers via forklift from the nose of the trailer to the tail. sometimes we'll use the side doors if we have particularly difficult items to load, i.e. long beams, odd sized pallets or rugs. many times drivers will create decks using load bars and four by eight ply in order to maximize his/her trailer space. we only exclusively floor load if the contract forbids stacking freight.

since boxcars have two side doors, does the customer drive a forklift directly into the car and load them from both ends to the center?

are the loads palletized? crated? are they just simply filled with loose boxes sometimes? are boxcars only floor loaded or do some of them have slots built into the sides for load bars?

what gets shipped in boxcars anyway?

i've always been curious about this, but i'm even more curious now since i'm employed in an industry that uses large trucks to transport its end product, trade show exhibits.

and by the way, i have loaded an exhibit on to a trailer that ended up being driven to stockton, then transported by rail to las vegas...

2. Default

Quote Originally Posted by shekky View Post
    and by the way, i have loaded an exhibit on to a trailer that ended up being driven to stockton, then transported by rail to las vegas...
    Seems like it would have been quicker to drive to Vegas, but cool that it's being shipped by rail.