Local rail enthusiast bored out of mind...

Affiliate Disclosure: We may receive a commision from some of the links and ads shown on this website (Learn More Here)

njurgensen

Railfanning Meteorologist
Still working on that scanner, just a matter of getting the money now...

...but in the mean time, I currently reside in a boring old apartment. I lack cable tv, internet, or for that matter anything fun to do except Xbox and that gets old. Being a typical college student, I also participate in the hobby of procrastination on homework. So the point of this thread is to ask the question: Are there any good train and/or railfan magazines out there worth subscribing to? I do enjoy the occasional light reading and so I was wondering if anyone had any kind of magazine they would prescribe. Sports Illustrated tends to get a little old for me so any suggestions would be appreciated! Thank you again.

kenw

5th Generation Texian
Let me suggest the local or school library: free, dry, air-conditioned and a near infinite selection of reading materials, both hard copy and web-based. But surely in Omaha there are some spots trackside where a scanner is just overkill.

Magazines to subscribe to

I'd suggest the basic one is Trains Magazine. Good overview, well edited, lots of interesting features. On the other hand, you might just want to go to the local library and use their Internet connection to access a wide variety of railroad sites.

CNW4404

What kind of cucumbers?
Railroads Illustrated is a good one to check out, not to mention any number of the railroad historical societies' magazines. Which railroads are you most interested in?

SurlyKnuckle

Foam Is A Hazmat
Trains is just ...well, forget that. Go with something with alittle more substance. The Railroad Press is a great magazine, and if you're a motive power junkie, I suggest Diesel Era as well.

njurgensen

Railfanning Meteorologist