Basic Railroad Info Please!

Affiliate Disclosure: We may receive a commision from some of the links and ads shown on this website (Learn More Here)

RailroadBookstore.com - An online railroad bookstore featuring a curated selection of new and used railroad books. Railroad pictorials, railroad history, steam locomotives, passenger trains, modern railroading. Hundreds of titles available, most at discount prices! We also have a video and children's book section.

ModelRailroadBookstore.com - An online model railroad bookstore featuring a curated selection of new and used books. Layout design, track plans, scenery and structure building, wiring, DCC, Tinplate, Toy Trains, Price Guides and more.

Hello!!

My name is Stephanie and I am currently an intern at a Wisconsin historical museum. I am working on a railroad exhibit. My problem, however, is that I do not know the slightest thing about railroads. I was hoping some of you could give me a hand!

I'm sorry if these are kinda stupid questions, but here goes

Were passengers and goods transported on the same train? Or were there separate routes for each?

I'm looking into the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad company. Did they do mostly passenger transport, or goods as well? If so, where could I find information on what kind of goods they transported?

Finally, I am working off of a watchman's tower and cannot find information on the valves/levers used to open and close the gate. Where could I find information so we can attempt to recreate the valves inside the tower?

Thank you so much! :)

kenw

5th Generation Texian
there are no stupid questions, Stephanie, we'll help all we can. Congrats on the internship, there's lots of us who might envy you!

I can help a little:

1) Were passengers and goods transported on the same train? Or were there separate routes for each?